Love at first listen

I’m sure most people have had an experience like this.  A song will just hit you…. and then instantly you’re hooked.  From that moment on, the song will always evoke a similar emotional response from you and remind you how it changed the way you felt about that particular moment.

The-Beatles-bandI listen to a wide variety of music genres.  Many artists have had this impact on me with a specific song or several of their songs… Oasis, R Kelly, Montel Jordan, Nusrat Fateh Ali Khan, The Beatles, Lenny Kravitz, Red Hot Chili Peppers, Incubus, Tony Rich Project, VAST, Metric, U2… it’s a very long list and they all are tied in my memory to specific moments in my life.  I’ll even add deadmau5 and Rihanna to that list (I don’t ONLY listen to older music!).  Ok I guess that doesn’t look like such a varied list but I promise I listen to a wider selection than mainly 90s R&B and alternative/rock.  Those just happen to be my two favorite genres so that’s what I’ve come up with off the top of my head.

This is why it’s so fun to switch up radio stations sometimes.  You might hear a song that you forgot about and it will temporarily bring you back to that place.  Like a mini-escape that you didn’t expect.  I love that music is so powerful… it can make or break the mood.  I’ve watched movie previews over and over only because the song was so great– watch the one for Leo’s upcoming movie, The Great Gatsby.  The song is by Kanye and Jay-Z.

I thought of this while I was driving today and heard Queens of the Stone Age playing.  I clearly remember the moment when I heard them live in 2003, opening for the RHCP’s in Toronto… I hadn’t heard too much about them at that time but their music struck me right away at that show and every song was just as great as the last.  It might not do the same for you but I’m sure you have a song or many songs that have the same effect on your nerve receptors ;)

Leave a Reply

