Oscar, meet Leo

What’s the deal with the Academy?  Leonardo DiCaprio has been an impressive actor for so many years with little recognition from the fine folks that choose the Academy Award recipients.

Leo took on the challenge of portraying a mentally challenged youth in What’s Eating Gilbert Grape in 1994.  Then he blew me away with his performance in The Basketball Diaries where he took us to the dark side of hard drugs- his detox scenes were even hard to watch at times.  Baz Luhrmann’s modern take on Romeo + Juliet demonstrated Leo’s ability to recite Shakespeare and gave us an indulgent taste of his romantic side (building up the appetites for more to come).  All of these amazing movies before he even hit Titanic fame!  Speaking of Titanic, James Cameron teaming up with Leo still didn’t earn him a win at the Academy Awards.  By this point, I think Leo had proven himself.  Then there was The Man in the Iron Mask which had him playing two roles of characters with completely opposite lives due to the greed of one brother (well, this movie may not be award-worthy but it showed more of his abilities).  The Beach is one of my all-time favorite movies and he fit into the role perfectly.  Leo has mastered the art of a slow descent into madness (more of this in 2004!).  After the Gangs of New York, I took an interest in the history of this American metropolis mainly based on the stellar performances.  He still didn’t catch their eye with Catch Me If You Can‘s smooth-talking con artist character.  Then came The Aviator, another descent down the hole of insanity.  Truly amazing performance…. and… nothing.  Then it starts to get just plain ridiculous.  No recognition, no awards after: The Departed, Blood Diamond, Inception, Shutter Island and now Django?  Is there something that I missed?  I literally despised his character in Django.  And Leo is such a lovable man!  But he made me believe that he was worthy of my most loathing thoughts during those few hours.  

Well, bravo to Leo.  He puts out some of the best movies I’ve seen and I think he deserves recognition for his wide range of acting skills.  He has been nominated twice for Academy Awards as far as I know (Blood Diamond and Aviator) but still no win for Leo.  We’ll see next year!  Speaking of Mr. DiCaprio’s acting skills- is this movie EVER coming out?:  I cannot wait.  I’ve been waiting too long!

Source: The Huffington Post

Source: The Huffington Post

On a lighter note, you may be surprised by my pick for best-dressed at this year’s Oscars.  I choose Sally Field!  For a mature woman, she tried something different and I love it on her.  The color works, the material is divine and I think she wears it well.

Leave a Reply

